Posted on 03/03/2021Comments Off on ROSANELLA

When did you first attend the SODEM protest outside Parliament and why did you come? 

I don’t recall exactly when it all started. But I used to pop over to be with Sodem if the other demo, opposite No. 10 was quiet. There were special occasions, when we all gathered with Sodem to provide support. 

Roughly how old are you?


How frequently did you come and when was the last time you attended?

I used to attend at least once a week, if I didn’t have work commitments. 

How far from Westminster do you live and what was your travelling time?

About 40 minutes to an hour by bus, depending on traffic. 

What’s your favourite memory?

The evening when many people gathered to protest and not only filled Parliament Square, but also on the green. What a night!

Tell me your story

I emigrated to UK, from Italy, 36 years ago. I was only 18 years and a few months old. My first home in England was West Yorkshire, where I lived for 4 years before moving to London. I live with my two grown up children and my mother. I work as a private Maths tutor and independent support specialist/trainer. UK has been home for well over 30 years and I’m finding difficult to accept the very sad fact that it looks like I’ll have to emigrate again (and I’m not a Spring chicken anymore!). Where to go from here is tricky. I can’t simply ‘go home’, since home is where I’ve been living for the past 32 or so years. I’ve been spending the past 4 years looking at maps and checking other EU countries where I could emigrate to. It’s heartbreaking 🙁 

Your donation helps to keep this website going. Thank you.